knowbly™ provides tools and messaging to support users as they collaborate on authoring projects. The locking feature ensures only one user at a time can edit a page or widget. In this manner, one user cannot overwrite another user’s work.
Example of Locking
User Gus (aka GS) has a page open in editing mode.
User Sandra (aka "SS") attempts to also edit the page. She can see by the icons displaying that the course is locked by Gus and cannot be modified.
Example of Change Notifications
When user Gus makes a change, Sandra is notified that a change has been made. She can refresh to see the change.
Example of Unlocking Notification
When user Gus exits editing mode, Sandra is notified that the page or widget is no longer locked. She can refresh her view, see the changes, and enter edit view if she wishes.