While users are collaborating on shared content in knowbly, our locking mechanism prevents users from overwriting each others' work. Locking is active for single pages in a course, for each widget, and for each editable theme.
How it works: Only one user can be in edit-mode at any time. Other team members will see a lock notification showing that another user is currently editing that content. While a page is locked:
- Non-editing team members can access the content in read-only view.
- The lock icon will update when edits have been saved so non-editing users know to refresh their view.
- The lock icon will update when the editing-user is no longer editing. Other users can now access the content for editing.
Note: Comments can still be captured for content on a locked page.
See below for details and examples:
Here is an example of how page locks work:
User, Steve Smedes, is actively making changes to the first lesson titled “Introduction to Communication Skills.” When a second user tries to access that lesson in the course, they see the page is locked in both the course structure panel and at the top of the screen.
The icon in the course structure panel can give you a quick view into which pages in the course are currently locked by other users.
You can hover over either lock to see the name of the user who has is actively editing the page.
As the original user makes changes, the lock will change from Red to Green to show other users that the content on this page has changed. You’ll want to refresh the page to see the latest changes the other user has made. Click the green Refresh page button (or your browser refresh button) to refresh the page.
When the editing-user is no longer editing the page, the lock will also change from Red to Green to show Refresh Page. Once you refresh, the previous user lock will disappear, which allows you to take the page lock and begin editing.
Note: Make sure to refresh the page before you begin editing to make sure you are seeing the most up-to-date content.
The widget lock only appears at the top of the widget editor. It functions the same as the page lock. All setting and theme buttons for the widget will be grayed out until the lock is cleared.
The theme lock only appears at the top of the theme editor. It functions the same as the page lock.